A Past Nobel Prize for Economics Winner on His Honor

Monday, October 10, 2011

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that American economists Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims will be awarded this year's Nobel Prize in economics this morning. University of Chicago professor Roger Myerson won the prize in 2007 for his contribution to the mechanism design theory, which allows economists to identify efficient trading mechanisms, regulation schemes, and voting procedures to keep markets vibrant. Myerson discusses what the honor means both personally, and to the field of economics.


Professor Roger Myerson

Produced by:

Jessica Xanthe Cran

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.